Results 1 to 7 of 7

I am with AT&T and was wondering if I will be able to use my ... BlackBerry Wi-Fi forum

  1. #1
    WizeGi's Avatar
    WizeGi no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    249ed774
    Posts
    44

    Does AT&T use VOIP w/ WiFi enabled phones?

    Advertisement



    I am with AT&T and was wondering if I will be able to use my home as a hotspot for service as my GSM signal strength here is very low.

    If not now, any plans for this in the future? Rumors?

  2. #2
    cjcarbone's Avatar
    cjcarbone no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    not anym
    Posts
    249
    not at this time.

  3. #3
    WizeGi's Avatar
    WizeGi no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    249ed774
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by cjcarbone View Post
    not at this time.

    So the benefit of WiFi is just related to data? BES Connections included?

  4. #4
    ventz's Avatar
    ventz no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    547
    Haha.You are funny. Att is SO against uma/voip/skype that they crippled wifi on symbian phones that could use sip with 3rd party. I don't see them ever releasing what tmobile has.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    WizeGi's Avatar
    WizeGi no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    249ed774
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by ventz View Post
    Haha.You are funny. Att is SO against uma/voip/skype that they crippled wifi on symbian phones that could use sip with 3rd party. I don't see them ever releasing what tmobile has.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    That sucks ... My main reason for wanting WiFi was for the ability to use VoIP.

    Does the T-Mobile network support 3G? The new 8900 is supposed to be a 3G setup. Maybe I will switch carriers.

  6. #6
    ventz's Avatar
    ventz no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    547
    They will support it. Last I heard from the tmobile team they are currently building up their 3G in the USA, while they have it in Europe. I believe that they are almost there because I first heard of them getting up their 3G network when ATT announced theirs (when it was still flaky and not everywhere), but so far ATT has done a very good job at producing results, where as tmobile is a bit behind the curve.

  7. #7
    jakesmobile's Avatar
    jakesmobile no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    53
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~If you lived in a nice big city it would be sweet to have 3G. We (att) sell all these phones braging about the great gods of 3G but then to be let down once again to find out we are to far north to be civalized(sp)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •