Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

I have had this problem since last night, I coudn't figure out how to make ... BlackBerry Wi-Fi forum

  1. #1
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Small case uma, I want UMA!

    Advertisement



    I have had this problem since last night, I coudn't figure out how to make my small case uma to go UMA. I've tried everything from power cycling my router and modem, rebooting my device, reseting my WiFi, re-sending my host routing table, turning the WiFi network off then on.

    I've called Tmobile and they said will have to call me back because they can't resolve it.

    I'm using a linksys router from T-Mobile.

    Sorry if this has been posted..

    Thanks guys!!
    Last edited by flash24; 09-26-2007 at 05:07 PM.

  2. #2
    dasupaman23's Avatar
    dasupaman23 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,362

    Re: Small case uma, I want UMA!

    In this thread: http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ge_county.html They said T-mobile will resend service book to resolve. Haven't tried it myself yet.

  3. #3
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: Small case uma, I want UMA!

    Thanks man.. lol i knew something is wrong.

  4. #4
    badjuju's Avatar
    badjuju no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Small case uma, I want UMA!

    I had a similar problem - I purchased my BB yesterday and had not been able to get email working. In my case, I had a lowercase edge, not uppercase. The rep from tmo had me remove the battery and reinstall it. Also, make sure you don't have your BB connected to anything like power adapter, etc.

  5. #5
    jeffsaha's Avatar
    jeffsaha no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    241EE28B
    Posts
    41

    Re: Small case uma, I want UMA!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I also called this morning about this and the rep told me there is a problem in the california area with the wireless that the engineers are taking care of or at least trying to take care of

  6. #6
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: Small case uma, I want UMA!

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffsaha
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I also called this morning about this and the rep told me there is a problem in the california area with the wireless that the engineers are taking care of or at least trying to take care of
    I really hope they fix it soon

  7. #7
    FishCake's Avatar
    FishCake no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Small case uma, I want UMA!

    Wow, I didn't even know there was a difference between uma and UMA. I also only have the uma, what exactly does this mean??

    Also, even when I get the uma and the little red bars, I get this message on some pages I try to browse: You are not in an area that can handle data communications (or something close to that). What does this mean?

    Thanks,
    FishCake

  8. #8
    mdwaite's Avatar
    mdwaite no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    31

    Re: Small case uma, I want UMA!

    Same thing happening in Las Vegas area. Tried resending service books, but to no avail. I think this is a TMo problem. It was UMA yesterday and today uma....
    "Would you say I have a
    plethora of Blackberrys?"

  9. #9
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: Small case uma, I want UMA!

    Yea, mine was UMA all day yesterday, til that night.

  10. #10
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344

    Re: Small case uma, I want UMA!

    No problems in FL UMA all night.
    Success is not final, Failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that matters.
    My Blog , My Flickr

  11. #11
    Moe2005's Avatar
    Moe2005 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    87

    Re: Small case uma, I want UMA!

    I don't even get a UMA signail at all. I do get Wi-Fi internet but not once since I got my curve it has shown up. I tried re-sending the service books and all but nothing works.

  12. #12
    PacificDude8's Avatar
    PacificDude8 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24218810
    Posts
    115

    Arrow Re: Small case uma, I want UMA!

    Quote Originally Posted by FishCake
    Wow, I didn't even know there was a difference between uma and UMA. I also only have the uma, what exactly does this mean??

    Also, even when I get the uma and the little red bars, I get this message on some pages I try to browse: You are not in an area that can handle data communications (or something close to that). What does this mean?

    Thanks,
    FishCake
    I didn't notice the difference really either, but I recalled seeing something about it in the manual. Sure enough - with a UMA connection you can use the phone, sms, mms, pin message, email, everything. With only a uma connection you can not pin message, email, and I'm not 100% sure but from what I can tell you do not make a successful connection to the Blackberry infrastructure (not sure what goes through this connection, probably the PIN messaging services)

    In addition - I spoke to T-Mobile regarding this, and they are "upgrading the system" in California, with no estimated time of completion. Take it to mean what ever you like - I'm just the messenger teehee

    OH! And I found a really in depth explaination of UMA and how the technology works at http://www.umatechnology.org/overview/ ... I hope all this helps!
    Last edited by PacificDude8; 09-27-2007 at 01:16 AM.
    --
    Walt

  13. #13
    hwnstyle21's Avatar
    hwnstyle21 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    31C83C17
    Posts
    94

    Re: Small case uma, I want UMA!

    AHHH I didn't even pay attention until I read this post. I knew sometimes I would get a small edge but I didn't know that the small/large lettering had significance. I guess I should open the booklet
    BB 8330 w/ SERO Voice Only, BIS, N/W @7pm, Pick3, Unl Text via Credits: $30 +$5 (Unl Incoming) + $7 (TEP)
    Pin: 31C83C17

  14. #14
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: Small case uma, I want UMA!

    Quote Originally Posted by Moe2005
    I don't even get a UMA signail at all. I do get Wi-Fi internet but not once since I got my curve it has shown up. I tried re-sending the service books and all but nothing works.
    Did you do a full restore from your older device's back up?

    If so, wipe your 8320, do an advance restore (restore only address book, phone logs, saved emails, profiles, etc) Don't restore any of the service book.

    Once your done restoring, resend service book and you should be good to go.

  15. #15
    Moe2005's Avatar
    Moe2005 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by flash24
    Did you do a full restore from your older device's back up?

    If so, wipe your 8320, do an advance restore (restore only address book, phone logs, saved emails, profiles, etc) Don't restore any of the service book.

    Once your done restoring, resend service book and you should be good to go.
    I did all that and I'm now getting lowercase uma.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •