Results 1 to 11 of 11

I've found that even with a strong UMA signal and our very fast internet, the ... BlackBerry Wi-Fi forum

  1. #1
    AviatorJud's Avatar
    AviatorJud no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80

    Question Possible to use Wi-Fi for data only(not voice)?

    Advertisement



    I've found that even with a strong UMA signal and our very fast internet, the voice quality is intermittent, probably just due to the nature of the internet. People tell me that I'm breaking up a lot when I'm using UMA and sitting right next to my router(a Linksys B/G). But I like having the faster data of WiFi when in my house. So is there a way to use the mobile network for voice and UMA for data?

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    I have had great success with WiFi /UMA on my Curve using a TMO branded router. It does have specific settings to enhance your UMA experience. It might be worth a try ($50 with a 30 day return policy).

    I do not know of any way to use WiFi for data only, sorry.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    AviatorJud's Avatar
    AviatorJud no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    I have had great success with WiFi /UMA on my Curve using a TMO branded router. It does have specific settings to enhance your UMA experience. It might be worth a try ($50 with a 30 day return policy).

    I do not know of any way to use WiFi for data only, sorry.
    Hmm...I find it hard to believe that those settings aren't simply software settings that can be set in any router. I'd be curious to discover what those settings are because every linksys router has the ability to change a great number of settings.

  4. #4
    BluesDrive's Avatar
    BluesDrive no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    241BC149
    Posts
    215
    I have a bunch of ports open from old MMOs that I used to play, and I think the BB uses one of the ones I have open, because my UMA is about 1.5x faster than my edge, and I get great reception when I'm on the phone.
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...rry_curve.html
    My detailed tutorial on painting your blackberry.

  5. #5
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    I have had great success with WiFi /UMA on my Curve using a TMO branded router. It does have specific settings to enhance your UMA experience. It might be worth a try ($50 with a 30 day return policy).

    I do not know of any way to use WiFi for data only, sorry.
    Gary,

    I think it's a 14-day return on the router rather than 30-day - worth it to make sure from T-Mo when ordering.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  6. #6
    Struble's Avatar
    Struble no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5

    Is there anyway of teathering

    Is there anyway of teathering my phone without paying the ridiclous price that cell phone carriers charge please

  7. #7
    anaenima's Avatar
    anaenima no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    101
    Yeah try out the Tmo router. Hook it up and look at the settings and see if you can copy it to your own router. Then return it after the try out period.

  8. #8
    Cloroxbleach4's Avatar
    Cloroxbleach4 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    67
    I don't have a TMO router or the @home service that TMO offers but if I use my wireless router that I currently have and turn on my wifi on my curve, will those minutes be free? or should go ahead and just use my mobile network for phone calls?

  9. #9
    Thyth's Avatar
    Thyth no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    273
    If you find out which security certificate is used by T-Mobile's UMA servers, you could try distrusting it on your BlackBerry (Options->Security->Certificates). That might stop the BlackBerry from completing the connection to the UMA server, but who knows what sorts of collateral damage that might cause to the data services in general.

  10. #10
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344
    Quote Originally Posted by Cloroxbleach4 View Post
    I don't have a TMO router or the @home service that TMO offers but if I use my wireless router that I currently have and turn on my wifi on my curve, will those minutes be free? or should go ahead and just use my mobile network for phone calls?
    you can make calls over wifi, they just count towards your regular minutes. Its still good if you don't have good cell coverage where you are. The @home service just gives you unlimited minutes over wifi.
    Success is not final, Failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that matters.
    My Blog , My Flickr

  11. #11
    AviatorJud's Avatar
    AviatorJud no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80
    Well guys, I finally answered my own question...and it was so simple. In the mobile network options, you just set it to 'mobile network only' in the connection preference. Then with wifi turned on, it will not switch over to UMA, but it will still connect to my wifi network and use it for data. It should be more clear in the options, but its not. Oh well.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •