I'm new to WiFi and have done a search for my question and nothing came ... BlackBerry Wi-Fi forum

gritsinct no está en línea Stack level 4
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me

Question OK to leave wifi on 24/7?

I'm new to WiFi and have done a search for my question and nothing came up - so I hope I'm not repeating anyone's question.

Is it OK to leave my WiFi turned on all of the time? I turn my bluetooth off when I'm not using it because it drains the battery pretty fast, and that may turn out to be a similar issue with WiFi. But I'm also concerned about the other issues with WiFi. I'm guessing it won't pick up signal unless I've set it up for that signal - so it should be ok to leave it on all the time and then it would just be active when I'm in an area with a signal I've joined. Is that correct? Are there any security issues with leaving the WiFi "open" all of the time?

siccmade no está en línea Stack level 4
    i used to leave it on but i noticed it will to also drain the battery, and sometimes failed calls because it would automatically change from EDGE TO UMA during a call.
    so i would say leave off until you want to connect. i don't believe there to be any security issues at this time , but i would keep your fire wall on just to be safe.
    TMO:MYTOUCH 3G SLIDE
    ROM:SlideMeRoot5r1
    KERNEL:2.6.29-5F8ED14

ventz no está en línea Stack Professional
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Yea, keep it off. I actually did some tests and it drains the power. It will always scan periodically for wifi connections, and try to match to your saved profiles, at which point if there is a match it will try to establish a connection.

jblackfish no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Blog Entries