Results 1 to 11 of 11

I have some rather unusual problems with WiFi on my home network with every BlackBerry ... BlackBerry Wi-Fi forum

  1. #1
    Thyth's Avatar
    Thyth no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    273

    Question Hostap/Madwifi-NG (Atheros) and W004 error

    Advertisement



    I have some rather unusual problems with WiFi on my home network with every BlackBerry device that tries to connect to it. My network hardware configuration is rather unique, so I haven't had much luck searching online for possible solutions.

    My router hardware configuration is as follows:
    00:0d.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5212 802.11abg NIC (rev 01)
    00:0e.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82557/8/9 [Ethernet Pro 100] (rev 05)
    00:0f.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)

    The first device is the wireless card, the other two are standard 100-BaseTX Ethernet adapters. The router is running a 2.6.24-gentoo-r8 kernel, madwifi-ng driver version 0.9.4, and hostapd version 0.5.10. The network is running in 802.11g mode, broadcasting its SSID, and is encrypted with a WPA2-PSK using CCMP pairwise & groupwise cipher, but contains no MAC address filtering. DHCP is configured to provide addresses in the 192.168.1.0/24 network block, and DNS is cached and queried locally on the router itself.

    All-in-all, your very typical network, just running on PC hardware instead of a tiny special purpose box from the likes of Linksys, D-Link, et al.. I should emphasize that this network configuration is flawless in serving network access to about a dozen computers, with about 6 over WiFi, and has always functioned perfectly on the non-BlackBerry devices.

    When I initially attempted to connect my Curve, I received a W010 error. Some Google searching lead me to a discussion on the CrackBerry forums where a user with enterprise grade Cisco Aironet discovered that disabling WMM (IEEE 802.11 draft; 11-03-0504-03-000e) functionality fixed that problem -- I would link to the thread, but it seems to be against policy here to link to other BB forum sites. I disabled the same functionality in the hostapd configuration file, and I was able to associate and authenticate.

    The BlackBerry now shows "T - Mobile - Home Wireless" on the home screen, but the WiFi icon remains transparent. I looked at the Wi-Fi Diagnostics program, and I was rather puzzled by what I saw.

    All of the information under the Wi-Fi portion of the diagnostic looked completely normal. Association: Check. Authentication: Check. Local IP Address: 192.168.1.130. Signal level: -60 dbm. Connection Data Rate: 54 Mbps. Status: Network acquired. Gateway Address: 192.168.1.1. DHCP: Check. Primary DNS: 192.168.1.1. Everything normal.

    What was puzzling was under the UMA portion. UMA Wi-Fi Available: Check. Connection: X. Error Code: W004. Status: ISP error. DNS server cannot be reached.

    I ran the ping program on self (failed!), and the Wi-Fi gateway. Both ping types resulted in timeouts. So, no IP or ICMP traffic seems to go over this WiFi connection from the BlackBerry.

    I have tested with BlackBerry OS versions 4.2.2.179, 4.2.2.184, and 4.5.0.10 on three different devices. Same results for all. Anyone run into this problem, or have some ideas for fixing it?

  2. #2
    Ju1c3's Avatar
    Ju1c3 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    60
    change your dns. i had this problem with the w004 errors and it was a dns issue. i pointed it to a different dns server then the one my isp uses and it started working fine instantly.
    INSERT WITTY SIGNATURE HERE

  3. #3
    Thyth's Avatar
    Thyth no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    273
    I've tried my ISP's DNS servers (68.87.77.130 and 68.87.72.130), and even the easy to remember 4.2.2.2 DNS server. All had the same results as using the local DNS cache -- which incidentally queries the ISP servers.

    This seems to be a failure of the IP stack on the BlackBerry or ARP->IP translation, since it isn't even able to ping itself on the network. I have tried all sorts of different solutions since I got this device last October; if it was something obvious (like DNS settings, MAC filtering, DHCP, etc.), I would have it fixed already.

    So, I'm inclined to think it has something to do with the hostapd configuration (beacon rates, management frame pointers, WMM has to be specially configured, anything), or some sort of incompatibility with the driver (not running hostapd and using the Linux wireless tools to set up an open network produces identical results, which let me rule out encryption problems).

    Software infrastructure wise, what I'm running isn't that different from dd-wrt. Maybe I should try pulling hostapd configuration from there.

  4. #4
    grfxguy's Avatar
    grfxguy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1
    I have a T-Mo 8900 (v4.6.1.250) & Linksys WRT160N, so if you have that combination, perhaps this will work for you.

    Where my UMA had been working fine, a few days ago it suddenly stopped with the same W004 error. I googled and read a number of different forum topics on the subject, but the suggestion that I disable N from my router was completely unacceptable as I use my notebook wirelessly all the time and depend on the faster connection afforded by N. What I tried, which seemed to work, was to set my router's wireless settings as follows:
    • WiFi config: manual
    • Network mode: mixed
    • Radio band: Auto
    • Wide channel: Auto
    • Standard channel: Auto

    It got things working again and I'm getting full UMA. Hope that helps.
    Nick

  5. #5
    Thyth's Avatar
    Thyth no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    273
    I traced this to a firmware bug in the BlackBerry 802.11 power management. Setting power mode on the WiFi radio to Active or Short Doze corrected the problem: WiFi 802.11 Engineering Screens>Power Modes>Short Doze - (Normal).

    It raises power consumption slightly, but it works.
    Need an eScreen code? Try my generator: http://absolous.wavegap.com/projects/escreen/

  6. #6
    jamesandruth's Avatar
    jamesandruth no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2

    Question This sounds like it will fix my troubles, but...

    I have the same problem. W004, and ping self doesn't work. Atheros card in the wireless router/firewall (pfSense).

    However when I select "Power Modes" in the BB WiFi e-screen, I get:

    Unable to set screen,
    code=-3.
    screenId=8499280
    idCookie=0

    g-mode, g-only: off, AP mode, intra BSS on, WME off, channel=auto (1)

    Any ideas?

  7. #7
    jamesandruth's Avatar
    jamesandruth no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Thyth View Post
    I traced this to a firmware bug in the BlackBerry 802.11 power management. Setting power mode on the WiFi radio to Active or Short Doze corrected the problem: WiFi 802.11 Engineering Screens>Power Modes>Short Doze - (Normal).

    It raises power consumption slightly, but it works.
    Thyth - You are amazing! I was finally able to edit this in the e-screen (had to upgrade firmware to 4.5.181) and all was well!

  8. #8
    Kyeno's Avatar
    Kyeno no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    6
    Hello there,

    I'm having the same (or very similiar) issue.

    My hw config would be:

    00:0b.0 Network controller: RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
    00:0d.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5782 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 03)
    00:0f.0 Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation 3c905B 100BaseTX [Cyclone] (rev 64)

    Hostapd config would be:

    interface=wlan0
    driver=nl80211
    bridge=br0
    hw_mode=g
    channel=11
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
    ctrl_interface_group=0
    macaddr_acl=0
    auth_algs=3
    eap_server=0
    eap_message=hello
    eapol_key_index_workaround=0
    own_ip_addr=192.168.0.1
    wpa=2
    ieee8021x=0
    wpa_passphrase=secret
    wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    wpa_pairwise=CCMP TKIP

    The network card uses additional firmware installed to make it work as a host. Laptops are working fine on that config.

    And well, the Blackberry connects to it properly, obtains an IP addy and DNS info from my DHCP, but it's not able to ping itself nor anything else on the network...

    I really can't get into the Engineering Screens on BlackBerry, even tho i googled hard on that; the generator seems offline.

    I also tried setting the powersave mode on my wlan0 interface, but it fails.

    home hostapd # iwconfig wlan0 power on
    Error for wireless request "Set Power Management" (8B2C) :
    SET failed on device wlan0 ; Invalid argument.


    Any clues? Been trying to get it work for like a week now...

  9. #9
    Kyeno's Avatar
    Kyeno no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    6
    Update! Made it to WORK with ACTIVE mode (and this one only)!

    http://feisley.com/2009/09/26/blackb...screen-keygen/

    There's a good keygen. People! Let's spread it WIDE across the net, so RIM f*ckers won't get it down.

    I'll try porting it to PHP, C#/.NET and Ruby and spread it WIDE when i got a second.

    Don't let us get censored as poor Thyth was

  10. #10
    Thyth's Avatar
    Thyth no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    273
    There are on-device generators (including one I've seen with a TARDIS icon) based on the pseudo-code I released. If you search around, you should be able to find them. The generator code you've linked to seems to just be a Python implementation of that pseudo-code.
    Need an eScreen code? Try my generator: http://absolous.wavegap.com/projects/escreen/

  11. #11
    Kyeno's Avatar
    Kyeno no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    6
    Well, i spent about a half a day googling and all i've been coming up with were links leading to Your on-line generator that is already shut down now.

    That python implementation was the only "open" one i found.

    I'll try googling more tho, thanks a lot. You rule

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •