Results 1 to 14 of 14

I got my new 8120 yesterday and for the most part I cannot complain. It ... BlackBerry Wi-Fi forum

  1. #1
    teddysprinkles's Avatar
    teddysprinkles no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    8

    Blackberry Wifi range

    Advertisement



    I got my new 8120 yesterday and for the most part I cannot complain. It is a great phone. The wifi works like a charm but I was just curious as to what others are getting as far as range with wifi? It seems a little weak when connecting to wifi spots and even my router at home. There are connections I have gotten on other wifi enabled PDA's that seem to pick up a wifi signal stronger from farther away.

    Anyone else notice this with their wifi enabled blackberry?
    Last edited by teddysprinkles; 04-15-2008 at 01:26 PM.

  2. #2
    pda.teck's Avatar
    pda.teck no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    210DAC53
    Posts
    1,252
    Yeah it does leave a little to be disired. it helps to reboot the phone daily, and to reboot the WIFI every other week or so.
    J. "Wyatt" Croom
    Blackberry 8520
    Spelling doesn’t determine your I.Q.
    (\_/)
    (0_0)
    (")-(")

  3. #3
    teddysprinkles's Avatar
    teddysprinkles no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    8
    Well I guess my next question, is there any attachments that could possibly extend the range?

  4. #4
    pda.teck's Avatar
    pda.teck no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    210DAC53
    Posts
    1,252
    Quote Originally Posted by tittysprinkles View Post
    Well I guess my next question, is there any attachments that could possibly extend the range?
    Not really, how far are you getting away from the router?
    J. "Wyatt" Croom
    Blackberry 8520
    Spelling doesn’t determine your I.Q.
    (\_/)
    (0_0)
    (")-(")

  5. #5
    teddysprinkles's Avatar
    teddysprinkles no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    8
    I would like to say I am approx 100ft from the router. On occassion i get a weak connection but it does not stay.

  6. #6
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    That sounds about right as far as distance. Tmo does call it hotspot@home so I'm not surprised if the signal strength is "regulated"

  7. #7
    pda.teck's Avatar
    pda.teck no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    210DAC53
    Posts
    1,252
    Yeah 100 feet is pretty good, but that is not in a unobstructed line I bet, being on the other side of a bath room or kitchen can effect it greatly. It depends on house construction, also the hand held doesn't have the power of a laptop for pulling in signal.
    J. "Wyatt" Croom
    Blackberry 8520
    Spelling doesn’t determine your I.Q.
    (\_/)
    (0_0)
    (")-(")

  8. #8
    teddysprinkles's Avatar
    teddysprinkles no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    8
    yeah that is why I was wondering if there was any kind of device out there that could boost the power of pulling a signal. Oh well. One can only hope.

  9. #9
    pda.teck's Avatar
    pda.teck no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    210DAC53
    Posts
    1,252
    Quote Originally Posted by tittysprinkles View Post
    yeah that is why I was wondering if there was any kind of device out there that could boost the power of pulling a signal. Oh well. One can only hope.
    You can add a signal booster to the NW its self. A WIFI extender. Or add another router to the system, Cable can be an issue but can be worth it to get more coveage in the house.
    Last edited by pda.teck; 04-15-2008 at 03:42 PM.
    J. "Wyatt" Croom
    Blackberry 8520
    Spelling doesn’t determine your I.Q.
    (\_/)
    (0_0)
    (")-(")

  10. #10
    rachaelp's Avatar
    rachaelp no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    124
    Radioshack sells WiFi extenders that you plug into wall sockets. It's a little pricey, but could be worth it over the long run. We are looking into it for our house.

  11. #11
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I have AT&T's High Speed Service. Do I need to add the WiFi package to my account to be able to use WiFi on my 8120, when I get it, at home? I have their modem but do I need a router also?


  12. #12
    AZA43's Avatar
    AZA43 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    56

    'Bout 100 ft.

    My Wi-Fi signal is quite strong up to about 100 ft. away from my router, even if I'm on a different floor. I use the special Linksys/T-Mobile router with my T-Mobile Curve, though, and that router supposedly gives you a stronger signal.

    AZA

  13. #13
    untjoker's Avatar
    untjoker no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    405
    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 View Post
    I have AT&T's High Speed Service. Do I need to add the WiFi package to my account to be able to use WiFi on my 8120, when I get it, at home? I have their modem but do I need a router also?
    You do not need a specifically branded router to use wifi on your BB. However, some brands (when it comes to TMO) work better than others. Are you using an AT&T 8120 or Tmo 8120? That I"m aware of ATT doesn't offer a wifi add on package. If it's a TMO 8120 you do not need the HOtspot At Home add on to use wifi, you just need it if you want unlimited UMA calls over wifi.....
    Yes, I've been diagnosed with Phantom Vibration Disorder.....

  14. #14
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I will be upgrading to the T-Mobile 8120.


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •