Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

I was wondering if it is possible to get wifi to work without a data ... BlackBerry Wi-Fi forum

  1. #1
    cnc10's Avatar
    cnc10 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    10

    AT&T Wifi with no data plan

    Advertisement



    I was wondering if it is possible to get wifi to work without a data plan. I have went through all the earlier posts about this problem and can't seem to get it to work. So my question is: If possible, how do I get my wifi to connect to my home router?

    Thanks,
    Chris

  2. #2
    erattix's Avatar
    erattix no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    20FD7E2C
    Posts
    17
    Well, you can always buy a Blackberry online from places such as eBay, Craigslist, etc. that aren't being sold from the wireless carriers. These units typically arrive branded with their respective carrier marks, but obviously no data plan attached.

    I highly doubt you'd enjoy browsing exclusively when WiFi would be available as you would incur high costs if you slipped off WiFi and onto the general data networks. I know that a few carriers are pushing their weight around disabling certain features that they charge for on their Blackberry units, but I know that the new AT&T models (Pearl 8120) do not have this limitation. Since AT&T doesn't allow calling over WiFi (yet), there isn't a reason for them to block WiFi without activation w/data plans.

    The only unfortunate thing is that if you don't purchase your Blackberry with the data plan required at the carrier's retail store, don't expect to get the lovely discounted equipment that everyone enjoys. You'll likely pay the non-contract fee which is essentially the OEM cost.

    Good luck & tell me if you have additional questions.

  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Chris,

    I assume you have an 8320?

    Do you have a browser icon on your phone?

    What exactly happens when you Enable Wifi in Manage Connections and Scan for Networks? Does it Connect?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    Blakefreak's Avatar
    Blakefreak no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    242A9091
    Posts
    76
    Wifi on the 8320 works without a sim card so it's conceivable that it would work without a data plan.

  5. #5
    anaenima's Avatar
    anaenima no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    101
    I have an 8320 and Im only using wifi (I dont have a data plan yet), and I can surf without problems. Only downside is some really good free apps like Opera Mini, Viigo, etc wont work without a data plan.

  6. #6
    cnc10's Avatar
    cnc10 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    10
    This is for my brother's phone. He has the 8820; however, when he tried to use the wifi, it would never give him an IP address. I contacted AT&T and they told me that he shouldn't have a problem. After doing the things they told me to do, it still wouldn't connect to my router. I have since tried this at starbucks, my mother's house, and at my college. It doesn't work anywhere. The only option AT&T gave me was to buy a data plan. The problem with that is that my brother and I are in college and he can't afford the extra $30 a month.

    Thanks,
    Chris

  7. #7
    blue_berries's Avatar
    blue_berries no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    12

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by cnc10 View Post
    I was wondering if it is possible to get wifi to work without a data plan. I have went through all the earlier posts about this problem and can't seem to get it to work. So my question is: If possible, how do I get my wifi to connect to my home router?

    Thanks,
    Chris
    Same question here, got a BB 8820 from ATT but I don't want the expensive data plans just to use the Wi Fi features. Is there any way to do this?

  8. #8
    ericugs's Avatar
    ericugs no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    258
    Another problem with no data plan on blackberries, you cannot send texts (atleast on Tmobile) not sure about AT&T.

  9. #9
    blue_berries's Avatar
    blue_berries no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by ericugs View Post
    Another problem with no data plan on blackberries, you cannot send texts (atleast on Tmobile) not sure about AT&T.
    Do you mean text messages? On AT&T I can send text messages fine, although they cost $.10 each.

  10. #10
    blue_berries's Avatar
    blue_berries no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    12

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by cnc10 View Post
    I was wondering if it is possible to get wifi to work without a data plan. I have went through all the earlier posts about this problem and can't seem to get it to work. So my question is: If possible, how do I get my wifi to connect to my home router?

    Thanks,
    Chris
    Yes, it has worked for me on Blackberry 8820, using WiFi browser and no Cell service (SIM card out),
    There are some problems with apps using data, for example Gmail Mobile does not seem to work, but going to http://mail.google.com via WiFi is fine.

  11. #11
    Dbspiel529's Avatar
    Dbspiel529 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    27

    wifi without data plan

    I have the new pearl 8120 with wifi with att. I have no data plan and i was wondering if i could access the internet with only wifi. my phone is able to pickup the network and it clearly acknowledges it and connects, yet there is still the yellow bar saying its not completely connected and it will not give me internet access. Please help...i have already tried asking att and theyr no help.

  12. #12
    taile77's Avatar
    taile77 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    241eb52f
    Posts
    9
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I had a problem connecting to wifi when I didn't have a data plan. I tried it without the sim card and it works. I find it time consuimimg to swap on and out the battery, so I got myself the cheapest plan with push email only ($15 with rogers) and am able to use wifi when there is a connection. I use my bb mainly for pin messages so this plan is perfect and the wifi surfing is just a plus.

  13. #13
    aZnUlTiMaTe's Avatar
    aZnUlTiMaTe no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    11
    same question as Dbspiel529. Please answer it.

  14. #14
    pearl_att's Avatar
    pearl_att no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs down

    I had the same expectations, also 8120 with AT&T, and the same frustation with Customer Service. After 1 1/2 hour on the phone and 6 respresentatives, the answer is that you need a data plan to connect to the internet.
    You get the yellow dot because you are connected to the home network, but not to the internet.
    It is an abuse that AT&T/Blackberry charges you for using your own internet access!!

  15. #15
    nivleksotnas's Avatar
    nivleksotnas no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2
    is there an app for the 8700 to use wifi?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •