Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32

there are rumors that rogers has agreed (with RIM) to carry the 8800 series but ... BlackBerry Wi-Fi forum

  1. #1
    Yclif's Avatar
    Yclif no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    2051259D
    Posts
    201

    8800 from Rogers without wifi? !!!!

    Advertisement



    there are rumors that rogers has agreed (with RIM) to carry the 8800 series but without wifi? trust me, I'm the last one that would like to carry bad news, but someone say otherwise... any rogers people out there?

  2. #2
    FireBreath's Avatar
    FireBreath no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: 8800 from Rogers without wifi? !!!!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    It wouldn't be the first time that Rogers has disabled wifi on a mobile device. It wouldn't be the second either.

  3. #3
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: 8800 from Rogers without wifi? !!!!

    Yeah but they're maybe speaking about the camera version which doesn'T have wifi
    I'm french canadian so I can also help you in french, just PM me
    UNLESS it is for a BETA OS, it's at your own risk and I won't support it
    Sn1p3r

  4. #4
    Einherjer's Avatar
    Einherjer no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    842

    Re: 8800 from Rogers without wifi? !!!!

    I did not hear anything about the 8800 actualy. Thursday i'll call and dig some info.

  5. #5
    Yclif's Avatar
    Yclif no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    2051259D
    Posts
    201

    Re: 8800 from Rogers without wifi? !!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Einherjer
    I did not hear anything about the 8800 actualy. Thursday i'll call and dig some info.
    thanks Einherjer, let us know. I got my info from my best friend who spoke to someone who works at rogers.

  6. #6
    NONCHALANT's Avatar
    NONCHALANT no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    204B0E0E
    Posts
    81

    Re: 8800 from Rogers without wifi? !!!!

    Man I'm not likin this!! We'll have to wait another year befor rim and them come out wit somethin that has all our expectations to their full!
    via BB (wap.....pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    bbcat's Avatar
    bbcat no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    2835A200
    Posts
    63

    Re: 8800 from Rogers without wifi? !!!!

    just another case of a potentially great product gone bad on account of greed and unfair biz practice by Rogers, and shame on RIM to go sleep with the enemy of the people. what we desperately need here is more competition and not more monopoly!!!
    "Do the Right Thing, Make your Mother Proud"

  8. #8
    Moridar's Avatar
    Moridar no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    302686bc
    Posts
    440

    Re: 8800 from Rogers without wifi? !!!!

    Doesn't Rogers punish the high data users enough... WiFi would only relieve that pressure that high data users cause them. Unlock WiFi!!!

  9. #9
    Treo700's Avatar
    Treo700 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    222

    Re: 8800 from Rogers without wifi? !!!!

    While I'm the last person to stand up for the Robbers Wireless brand the consumer seems to be least of their concern at times with the discount benefits rewards going to the corp user(s) price wise yes they're out there I have a sizable data discount so I could care less plus most corp users are comp'd by their company, I feel for the SoHo BIS user(s).

    To their credit they were fist in the BB ball game and have since dictated price, while I don't agree with the monopoly guineas like Telus and Bell need to step up and discount said data price and create a turf war, sales 101, you want it, go get it, it's not coming to you. That being said it could be far more complicated as RIM dictates the communication (their servers) and hardware sold via the carrier who really knows where the price point is at that level? A strong argument can be made if you look to the price range of US data plans in comparison.

    As for WiFi I see the theory but RIM's secure being is probably part of the hold up as well as cannibalizing their data subscriptions (just my .02)
    Quote Originally Posted by Moridar
    Doesn't Rogers punish the high data users enough... WiFi would only relieve that pressure that high data users cause them. Unlock WiFi!!!

  10. #10
    b3rry's Avatar
    b3rry no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: 8800 from Rogers without wifi? !!!!

    if i get a 8800 from the states and unlock it.. do u think i would b able to use wifi?

  11. #11
    croman's Avatar
    croman no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    207b39f0
    Posts
    61

    Re: 8800 from Rogers without wifi? !!!!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    The 8800 from Rogers will gave wifi! A good buddy of mine, and fellow BB addict who works for corp. Rogers said he was using a 8800 last week, and it does have wifi!

  12. #12
    Yclif's Avatar
    Yclif no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    2051259D
    Posts
    201

    Re: 8800 from Rogers without wifi? !!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by croman
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    The 8800 from Rogers will gave wifi! A good buddy of mine, and fellow BB addict who works for corp. Rogers said he was using a 8800 last week, and it does have wifi!
    YES ! , thank you, this is great news.

  13. #13
    kingkronik's Avatar
    kingkronik no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1

    Re: 8800 from Rogers without wifi? !!!!

    Your Buddy is probably using a Pre-Production PROTOTYPE. These prototypes usually have all features 'unlocked' as the provider has not 'crippled' the phone yet. I have been hearing from every source out there that the Rogers Version is WITHOUT WIFI!! Unless your buddy is using an officially Rogers Branded PRODUCTION handset, i wouldnt get too excited that the Consumer versions will have WiFi. But, we can keep hoping though!

  14. #14
    b3rry's Avatar
    b3rry no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: 8800 from Rogers without wifi? !!!!

    it wont have wifi for sure i work for rogers and just got the specs sheet

  15. #15
    Yclif's Avatar
    Yclif no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    2051259D
    Posts
    201

    Re: 8800 from Rogers without wifi? !!!!

    you must be kidding me. i have no words to ..... "@*%$#"

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •