Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Just as the title says, my laptop has a virus and I would like to ... Microsoft Windows forum

  1. #1
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818

    Question My Laptop has a virus, how can I wipe it myself?

    Advertisement



    Just as the title says, my laptop has a virus and I would like to wipe it to factory default myself.

    How can I do this? First time I've ever gotten a virus that I can't get rid of.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  2. #2
    HeyMrRadio's Avatar
    HeyMrRadio no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,290
    If you have the recovery discs, insert the first one into your CD drive then reboot the computer with it in there. It will boot from the disc and should automatically begin the factory reset...

  3. #3
    paulg1981's Avatar
    paulg1981 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    18
    If you have a xp or vista cd/dvd pop it in the drive and reboot off the disk. Follow the onscreen prompts and be sure to erase and recreate partitions to get a clean start.

  4. #4
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Looks like I have to go on a disc hunt lol. Any alternatives?
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  5. #5
    HeyMrRadio's Avatar
    HeyMrRadio no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,290
    Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > System Restore doesn't help?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    Take it to someone to do it LOL.. Either or pull it yourself from online source. Or go to the store and buy a XP or Vista Disc.

  7. #7
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Quote Originally Posted by HeyMrRadio View Post
    Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > System Restore doesn't help?
    I think the virus got rid of my earlier restore points. I don't have anything before May 08, which is when I got the virus.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  8. #8
    Schirripal's Avatar
    Schirripal no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2096c6ec
    Posts
    585
    whats type of pc is it HP, Dell, Toshiba
    RedCurv07

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    Just buy a new Xp disc and get it overwith

  10. #10
    Schirripal's Avatar
    Schirripal no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2096c6ec
    Posts
    585
    no no no, if its an HP or Toshiba he can run an recovery via rebooting and for HP its F11 no need to buy any OEM disc's if at all possible, then he can make his own recovery disc's
    Quote Originally Posted by RSCStacker View Post
    Just buy a new Xp disc and get it overwith
    RedCurv07

  11. #11
    Schirripal's Avatar
    Schirripal no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2096c6ec
    Posts
    585
    oops double posted
    RedCurv07

  12. #12
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    I have an HP Pavilion Entertainment Notebook PC
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    I have never had any problems just popping one in into my HP Laptop at all.

  14. #14
    Schirripal's Avatar
    Schirripal no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2096c6ec
    Posts
    585
    ur in luck reboot, start tapping F11 for Vista F10 for XP like tap,tap,tap, then it will go to saying windows is loading files then it will boot up to Recovery Manager screen there you can run an Full System recovery that will restore your computer to the Original Configuration of when you first purchaced it
    RedCurv07

  15. #15
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Quote Originally Posted by Schirripal View Post
    ur in luck reboot, start tapping F11 for Vista F10 for XP like tap,tap,tap, then it will go to saying windows is loading files then it will boot up to Recovery Manager screen there you can run an Full System recovery that will restore your computer to the Original Configuration of when you first purchaced it
    AWESOME. I will try this and get back to you.

    First I need to save some files and make a list of my apps though.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •