Results 1 to 11 of 11

For all my fellow Stackers in Alberta, get ready for ten digit dialing because it ... Canadian Stackers forum

  1. #1
    javatyger's Avatar
    javatyger no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    U5W15H
    Posts
    645

    Ten digit dialing begins in Alberta

    Advertisement



    For all my fellow Stackers in Alberta, get ready for ten digit dialing because it starts today! Starting today, anyone dialing a seven digit phone number will hear an annoying prompt reminding you to dial the area code first. Furthermore, if you go signed up for a new phone, or change your number, you might get the new 587 area code!!

    Post here if you get one!

  2. #2
    Leetneo's Avatar
    Leetneo no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    316D16C7
    Posts
    712
    Stupid Alberta boom.....

  3. #3
    javatyger's Avatar
    javatyger no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    U5W15H
    Posts
    645
    Quote Originally Posted by Leetneo View Post
    Stupid Alberta boom.....
    LOL. Yeah no kidding, eh? ;-)

  4. #4
    Leetneo's Avatar
    Leetneo no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    316D16C7
    Posts
    712
    Oh well, what are ya gonna do...makes me money!!!!

  5. #5
    thymaster's Avatar
    thymaster no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    198
    Eventually this was going to happen. Better now then later. It's not like it's going to really change anything for me. I've been putting the area code in my phonebook since the days when text messaging came out and also I travel quite a bit.

  6. #6
    DataCentre's Avatar
    DataCentre no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    208759D5
    Posts
    81
    We've had it here in Vancouver for quite a few years now. Took some getting used to. Now it's just 2nd nature.

  7. #7
    ice44's Avatar
    ice44 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,060
    rumors of that here in Los Angeles as well.....

    Look out eh !


    The young man knows the rules, and the old man will enforce them!
    __________________________

  8. #8
    Hack173's Avatar
    Hack173 no está en línea banned
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    249E4D70
    Posts
    2,694
    ^^That gonna sucks if it comes to San Diego.

  9. #9
    Rids's Avatar
    Rids no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    30213D47
    Posts
    86
    Any Alberta folks got a 587 area code yet???
    http://www.JessicaRidley.com << My country music singing wife

  10. #10
    BiggDaddyDutch's Avatar
    BiggDaddyDutch no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    313
    My buddy just came back from out there and his phone has that area code.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    Sirthinks's Avatar
    Sirthinks no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2831A313
    Posts
    1,569
    It isn't a big deal if you set your Smart Dialing settings.... When I add a number to my contact list I ALWAYS put in 1-000-000-0000... In smart dialing make wure you have your local area code set up. Also tell it the national number length is ten digits. When you are local it will automagically dial your 10 digit number.

    It takes less than a minute to set up and you only have to do it again if you wipe your phone.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Sirthinks; 11-30-2008 at 07:18 PM.
    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. - Carl Sagan

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •