Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

I am trying to tether my Curve with bluetooth. It pairs up, I am able ... Bluetooth Connectivity forum

  1. #1
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90

    Bluetooth tether

    Advertisement



    I am trying to tether my Curve with bluetooth. It pairs up, I am able to listen to music over my notebooks speakers from my phone, and send files back and forth, but I get error 692 hardware failure when trying to use it as a modem. It works fine with USB, but I would like to get it working with bluetooth. I am running .152 on phone and desktop 4.7. I even tried desktop 4.6 but got the same results. I query the modem and it comes back looking okay as far as I can tell. All the settings are the same between my bluetooth connection and USB.

  2. #2
    jonesjj's Avatar
    jonesjj no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    153
    When your phone is paired to your computer it uses a different com port for the modem then when you use usb. You need to set up a new connection with your phone paired via bluetooth and select the correct standard modem. I've seen mostly com40 for bluetooth modems.

  3. #3
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90
    Yea your right when connected via bluetooth its on com4. I have tried to setup a new connection several times with the same result.

  4. #4
    jonesjj's Avatar
    jonesjj no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    153
    Did you put the extra init string on the new modem? What comes up when you query the bluetooth modem?

  5. #5
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90
    Query Modem

    02-14-2009 05:38:48.940 - File: C:\Windows\system32\tapisrv.dll, Version 6.0.6001
    02-14-2009 05:38:48.940 - File: C:\Windows\system32\unimdm.tsp, Version 6.0.6001
    02-14-2009 05:38:48.940 - File: C:\Windows\system32\unimdmat.dll, Version 6.0.6000
    02-14-2009 05:38:48.940 - File: C:\Windows\system32\uniplat.dll, Version 6.0.6000
    02-14-2009 05:38:48.940 - File: C:\Windows\system32\drivers\modem.sys, Version 6.0.6001
    02-14-2009 05:38:48.940 - File: C:\Windows\system32\modemui.dll, Version 6.0.6001
    02-14-2009 05:38:48.940 - File: C:\Windows\system32\mdminst.dll, Version 6.0.6001
    02-14-2009 05:38:48.940 - Modem type: Standard Modem over Bluetooth link
    02-14-2009 05:38:48.940 - Modem inf path: mdmbtmdm.inf
    02-14-2009 05:38:48.940 - Modem inf section: GenericCellPhone
    02-14-2009 05:38:48.940 - Matching hardware ID: bthenum\{00001103-0000-1000-8000-00805f9b34fb}
    02-14-2009 05:38:54.914 - 115200,8,N,1, ctsfl=0, rtsctl=1
    02-14-2009 05:38:54.914 - Initializing modem.
    02-14-2009 05:38:54.914 - DSR is low while initializing the modem. Verify modem is turned on.
    02-14-2009 05:38:54.914 - CTS is low while initializing modem.
    02-14-2009 05:38:54.930 - Send: AT<cr>
    02-14-2009 05:38:56.911 - Recv: <cr><lf>OK<cr><lf>
    02-14-2009 05:38:56.911 - Interpreted response: OK
    02-14-2009 05:38:56.927 - Send: ATE0V1&D2<cr>
    02-14-2009 05:38:57.910 - Recv: <cr><lf>ERROR<cr><lf>
    02-14-2009 05:38:57.910 - Interpreted response: Error
    02-14-2009 05:38:57.910 - Session Statistics:
    02-14-2009 05:38:57.910 - Reads : 15 bytes
    02-14-2009 05:38:57.910 - Writes: 13 bytes
    ATQ0V1E0 - OK
    AT+GMM - RIM BlackBerry Device 84001503
    AT+FCLASS=? - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
    AT#CLS=? - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
    AT+GCI? - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
    AT+GCI=? - COMMAND NOT SUPPORTED
    ATI1 - Research In Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI2 - Research In Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI3 - Research In Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI4 - Research In Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI5 - Research In Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI6 - Research In Motion BlackBerry IP Modem
    ATI7 - Research In Motion BlackBerry IP Modem


    That is the log file

    I have at+cgdcont=1,"IP","wap.voicestream.com" in the Extra initialization commands

  6. #6
    jonesjj's Avatar
    jonesjj no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    153
    It should work then. Everything seems to be set up correctly. Only other thing I can suggest is do a battery pull before. That fixes most of my problems. ~via BlackBerry 8900~

  7. #7
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90
    I have tried 10+ battery pulls. Uninstalled every thing and reinstalled. Unpaired and paired again via bluetooth. Still get the same errors. Was on the phone with tmobile for 2+ hours aswell and they cant see to figure out what is wrong either.

  8. #8
    Sirthinks's Avatar
    Sirthinks no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2831A313
    Posts
    1,569
    You may need to contact your carrier for the username and password for the connection. I went through hell trying to set mine up....

    I finally called Rogers and was given the username and password.

    Username: wapuser1
    password: wap

    you also need to give it a dialout number For GSM carriers it is *99#

    I am assuming from the wap.voicestream.com that you are using T-Mobile....

    So your dialup number is *99# and your username and password are your current T-Mobile username and Password.
    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. - Carl Sagan

  9. #9
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90
    Dont need a user name and password, it wont even make it that far, it gives the error right after it says opening port. Also it work with USB cable, but I need it to work with bluetooth. I need to be able to have my phone in another room from my computer. So that the phone gets signal.

  10. #10
    Sirthinks's Avatar
    Sirthinks no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2831A313
    Posts
    1,569
    That's odd. I have never had a bit of trouble tethering....

    Ensure your Bluetooth connection is giving your phone the proper properties. It must have DUN as one of the properties.



    Under Internet Settings setup a NEW Dialup Connection:



    Once you have selected The Standard Modem over Bluetooth Link:



    And that is all I have ever had to do to tether and use my Bold as a modem. I have never had to get too technical. I think sometimes over-complicating things leads to trouble.... :-)

    Let me know if this helps. If not I will spend some time researching this. I am off work with pneumonia for a couple of days, so I need something to do.. :-)
    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. - Carl Sagan

  11. #11
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90
    Nope still getting error 692 hardware failure. Only thing I can think of is a bad bluetooth modem driver. Cause it works fine with the USB cable. Thought I seen on the blackberry support forums that there is a known bluetooth driver issue with the 8900 but cant find the post again to confirm.

  12. #12
    Sirthinks's Avatar
    Sirthinks no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2831A313
    Posts
    1,569
    Oh.... when I first connect my Bold or 8900 to the computer it comes up with a popup asking to search for a driver... It does it twice and I ignore it twice.
    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. - Carl Sagan

  13. #13
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90
    Yea I do the same thing. Hit me up on one of my messengers if you want. I will be up for a few more hours.

  14. #14
    Sirthinks's Avatar
    Sirthinks no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2831A313
    Posts
    1,569
    I have never tethered with my 8900. It is not included in my plan. I will give it a shot later tonight and report results.
    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. - Carl Sagan

  15. #15
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90
    Alright thanks man. Yea I had no problems at all tethering my Pear, or the storm I had for a short period of time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •