Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

The problem is when I upgraded to the new version of VR+ the app will ... 3rd Party BlackBerry Software forum

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    319B7413
    Posts
    174

    VR+/Firewall Problem

    Advertisement



    The problem is when I upgraded to the new version of VR+ the app will not run with the firewall enabled.I get an error message saying something about the app trying to open a connection inside and outside the firewall that's not permitted by my IT policy.I've gone to security and firewall settings and allowed everything and app still won't run.I can't figure this one out.
    Alltel 8830 4.2
    Personal phone not a company phone.
    Last edited by blackngray70; 12-31-2007 at 08:21 AM.

  2. #2
    haggisgirl's Avatar
    haggisgirl no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    40

    Re: VR+/Firewall Problem

    I get the same error when trying to run Mobipocket with the firewall enabled. Haven't been able to figure it out or find and answer.
    Haggisgirl
    Why yes, that is my Miata. And, yes, it has a Ford 302.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    319B7413
    Posts
    174

    Re: VR+/Firewall Problem

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I guess we're not going to get an answer.

  4. #4
    SHAPE's Avatar
    SHAPE no está en línea Developer
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    573
    Well, this issue is not related to the application. We would gladly help, but it's out of our scope.
    Victoria
    Head of QA & Customer Care
    SHAPE Services

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    319B7413
    Posts
    174
    Thanks

  6. #6
    JMA88's Avatar
    JMA88 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1

    Question VR+ , unable to reconcile firewall prompts

    Just tried to open VR+ and received this identical prompt regarding firewall and IT policy. What the heck? Has anyone found a solution to this? This is my first download to a new 8830. Not a good experience. Thx.

  7. #7
    SHAPE's Avatar
    SHAPE no está en línea Developer
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    573
    Dear users,

    You need to edit security permissions on your Blackberry.
    1. Open Options/Security/Application Permissions
    2. Select VR+
    3. Select Edit Permissions from the menu
    4. Configure the Security Permissions to "Allow" for all categories.
    5. Save the changes

    Then please restart VR+.

    You can learn more about the IT policy from jdellasala's blog at http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/blog.php?b=84

    BR,
    Irene
    Last edited by SHAPE; 05-20-2008 at 08:34 AM.
    Victoria
    Head of QA & Customer Care
    SHAPE Services

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    319B7413
    Posts
    174
    Wow I started this thread in Dec 2007!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    319B7413
    Posts
    174
    Quote Originally Posted by SHAPE View Post
    Dear users,

    You need to edit security permissions on your Blackberry.
    1. Open Options/Security/Application Permissions
    2. Select VR+
    3. Select Edit Permissions from the menu
    4. Configure the Security Permissions to "Allow" for all categories.
    5. Save the changes

    Then please restart VR+.

    You can learn more about the IT police from jdellasala's blog at http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/blog.php?b=84

    BR,
    Irene
    Tried that, didn't work.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    319B7413
    Posts
    174
    Quote Originally Posted by SHAPE View Post
    Dear users,

    You need to edit security permissions on your Blackberry.
    1. Open Options/Security/Application Permissions
    2. Select VR+
    3. Select Edit Permissions from the menu
    4. Configure the Security Permissions to "Allow" for all categories.
    5. Save the changes

    Then please restart VR+.

    You can learn more about the IT police from jdellasala's blog at http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/blog.php?b=84

    BR,
    Irene
    You might not have read my original post very closely when I started this thread back in Dec '07, but I tried editing application permissions and that did not work I even sent Shape Services an Email about the problem with no remedy. Now I have a 8330 with 4.3 so I don't need VR+ anymore just want Shape Services to know that their customer service sucks.
    Last edited by blackngray70; 05-19-2008 at 09:21 PM.

  11. #11
    SHAPE's Avatar
    SHAPE no está en línea Developer
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    573
    Hello blachngray70,

    I understand your concerns, still a firewall and IT policy issues are not caused by and 3rd party applications, including VR+, as they are carrier settings. We are trying to find a workaround for this. Allowing all permissions is a good advice and it helps in some cases.
    If it doesn't help, we advice users to disable the firewall.
    To disable firewall on the device user should follow Options-> Security Options -> Firewall, press Menu button and select Edit default permissions and change all values to Allow.

    With all the best,
    Victoria
    Head of QA & Customer Care
    SHAPE Services

  12. #12
    BlackBerryKen's Avatar
    BlackBerryKen no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3

    VR+ firewall problem

    I also cannot get VR+ to run with the firewall enabled. I have worked with Shape's customer service and still can't get it to work, it's very frustrating. They sent me a VR+ settings cleaner which didn't help either. I really want to use this software, but I won't disable the firewall. Shape indicates that it is not a problem with their application, however if customers can't get it to work, they should be doing everything they can to remedy the situation. Is it possible that the carrier has modified some settings that conflicts with the VR+ software? My carrier is Verizon Wireless and wondered if others with this problem have the same carrier.

    Thanks, Ken

  13. #13
    SHAPE's Avatar
    SHAPE no está en línea Developer
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    573
    Hello Ken,

    We are doing everything we can. The only solution we have at the moment is disabling the firewall. Still there might be some carrier settings changed that we are not aware of.
    Last edited by SHAPE; 06-05-2008 at 11:06 AM.
    Victoria
    Head of QA & Customer Care
    SHAPE Services

  14. #14
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    I am starting to think the crippling GPS isn't the only bad thing Verizon does on "their" BlackBerrys. I've ran into the IT Policy message before on my 8130, and I am not on a BES.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  15. #15
    BlackBerryKen's Avatar
    BlackBerryKen no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by SHAPE View Post
    Hello Ken,

    We are doing everything we can. The only solution we have at the moment is disabling the firewall. Still there might be some carrier settings changed that we are not aware of.
    SHAPE Services,

    All my permissions have always been set to "allow", and I don't want to use my BlackBerry with the firewall disabled. I tend to agree with "j llama", and am not happy with all the modifications (disabling) Verizon has done to the 8830, but it's the only service that works in my employers buildings. I know Verizon has their financial reasons for disabling much of the functionality of this device and this is the reason why I support the ability for consumers to purchase their own equipment and activate it with any carrier they wish to, as in other countries.

    Is it possible for you to work with Verizon Wireless to remedy this situation?

    I understand that you, as a third party software company, will take the stand that your software works just fine, which I'm sure it does under most circumstances. Just as I'm sure Verizon Wireless will say they are not responsible for the functioning of third party software on their equipment.

    I'm a computer professional, so I understand that this may be complicated from both a software and legal position but it just seems that this problem occurs often enough to warrant both parties to work together to find a solution.

    I too am frustrated with not being able to get VR+ to work on my 8830, but this is only because I know it is a GREAT PRODUCT, has GREAT FUNCTIONALITY, and I REALLY WANT TO USE IT. Otherwise, I wouldn't waste my time writing all this.

    Thanks, Ken

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •