Results 1 to 6 of 6

As soon as I install this .alx via Blackberry Desktop Manager on my 8703 it ... 3rd Party BlackBerry Software forum

  1. #1
    mj8's Avatar
    mj8
    mj8 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    5

    unable to run app

    Advertisement



    As soon as I install this .alx via Blackberry Desktop Manager on my 8703 it crashes. What am I doing wrong? The .alx is located on my C:\ along with the ltcratecalc.cod.
    Is something with the (fileset Java="1.28") incorrect or is the code in my .cod broken. I can run this same app on a 8800 without any problems.

    loader version="1.0">
    <application id="ltcratecalc">
    <name >

    </name>
    <description >

    </description>
    <version >

    </version>
    <vendor >
    MyCompany
    </vendor>
    <copyright >
    Copyright (c) 2007 MyCompany
    </copyright>
    <fileset Java="1.28">
    <directory >

    </directory>
    <files >
    ltcratecalc.cod
    </files>
    </fileset>
    </application>
    </loader>

  2. #2
    I7oobie's Avatar
    I7oobie no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,563

    Re: unable to run app

    Is it an app specifically for the 8800? It might require 4.2 OS, which is not available on the 8703e...
    Black G1 w/Root
    JesusFreke's Moddified RC30 v1.3
    Auto-rotate Enabled
    Auto-rotate Browser Enabled
    Manup's Blue Star 5 Theme

  3. #3
    mj8's Avatar
    mj8
    mj8 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: unable to run app

    Quote Originally Posted by I7oobie
    Is it an app specifically for the 8800? It might require 4.2 OS, which is not available on the 8703e...
    No, we wrote it in house. How would you specify the OS?

  4. #4
    I7oobie's Avatar
    I7oobie no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,563

    Re: unable to run app

    Well, depending on carrier, the 8700 models are running on 4.1 and the 8100 and the 8800 are now on the 4.2.
    Black G1 w/Root
    JesusFreke's Moddified RC30 v1.3
    Auto-rotate Enabled
    Auto-rotate Browser Enabled
    Manup's Blue Star 5 Theme

  5. #5
    nickelbud's Avatar
    nickelbud no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    35

    Re: unable to run app

    This can happen if you compile under 4.2. Try grabbing version 4.1 (or earlier) of the development environment from RIM and compile using that.

    There's an article here that talks a little about running a 4.2 app on an older device:

    http://allblackberry.com/news/2007/0...-reboot-error/
    ---------------------------------------------------
    Visit http://mobile.nickelbuddy.com on your BlackBerry browser to download free trials.

  6. #6
    mj8's Avatar
    mj8
    mj8 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: unable to run app

    Quote Originally Posted by nickelbud
    This can happen if you compile under 4.2. Try grabbing version 4.1 (or earlier) of the development environment from RIM and compile using that.

    There's an article here that talks a little about running a 4.2 app on an older device:
    Thanks this worked for my first problem. Now I am onto another issue.

    Error starting myapplication: Unsigned module 'myapplication-6' may not contain classes in com.rim (except com.rim.samples), net.rim, net.blackberry, java or.................


    Anybody have any idea. Am I putting the .cod file in wrong place is that what that error is telling me?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •