I admit that I am new to the Blackberry world, and how things work. I ... 3rd Party BlackBerry Software forum

gtshipp no está en línea Stack level 1

Trying to understand JAR files for 8700g

Advertisement

I admit that I am new to the Blackberry world, and how things work. I am having difficulty understanding JAR and JAD files and how they get converted into alx and COD files, and why.

I currently have a T-mobile 8700g with a Pay As you Go plan for the time being. OS = 4.2 and I use the desktop manager to upload application and to sycn between my desktop and device. No SD memory.

As i understand it, if i had a data plan, I could use my browser to download these JAR and JAD files. If not, it sounds like these are files that need to be complied for your particuar phone via the instructions similar to what I found at this link (http://www.blackberryforums.com/afte...nt-do-ota.html) through a development process.

Questions:
    1: What is the difference between a JAR and JAD file?
    2: On a scale of 1 - 10, how much time and effort is required to get these converted over to file that I can load with the desktop manager from my PC?

jeffallen8 no está en línea Stack Professional
    PIN/ID
    Huh?
    You can load a Jar file on your bb without converting it. All you need to do is get the file on your device either by the DM or bluetooth. then click the jar file and it will ask to install.

So I got the file onto my device using the media manager into a new folder called games under /device memory/home/user/picture/games, however when I go to my device, I can't set the file. I also can't seem to find an option to see all file extentions.

I tried getting to it by the brower, but no luck. Does the Blackberry have a concept of a file manager that can be installed?

I have not tried copying it via bluetooth, but I am afraid it would be coping it to the same location and my theory is that the pictures dir is set up to only see certian file extentions.