Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Note: This applies to but is not limited to the following applications for Blackberry... Instant ... 3rd Party BlackBerry Software forum

  1. #1
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    How to: Setup Internet Access For BlackBerry 3rd Party Applications

    Advertisement



    Note: This applies to but is not limited to the following applications for Blackberry... Instant Messaging (IM+, Verichat, WebMessenger, BerryVine, Yahoo, Gtalk, etc.), IRC chatting (wlirc, virca, etc.), telnet/ssh (Idokorro, etc.). It can be used without BES/MDS or for BES users who prefer NOT to use their corporate MDS.

    Let’s get started:
    1. Upgrade BlackBerry OS
      You'll need BlackBerry with OS 3.8 or better. (Already do? Then skip to the next step.) If you have an old version of BlackBerry OS, please see this thread about upgrading depending on your Blackberry device -- Blackberry OS 4.1 download & Install guide.
    2. Configure BlackBerry & Carrier Settings
      Using your BlackBerry, go to 'Options' / 'Advanced Options' / 'TCP'. Once there fill in the appropriate APN for your carrier. Locate your APN here.* Once you have configured the APN, you should 'Turn Wireless Off' and 'Turn Wireless On' for the device to register with the new settings.
    Done! Now try running a 3rd party software application that needs internet connection to function.

    Note: Some applications after being launched require the gateway or APN information to be entered. For those type of applications see the possible settings here.


    *You may have to call your carrier to request your APN. If you do please add the setting to out list which can be found here

  2. #2
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: How to: Setup Internet Access For BlackBerry 3rd Party Applications

    Very important, thanks boss.

  3. #3
    CoolFinalFan's Avatar
    CoolFinalFan no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    951

    Thumbs up Re: How to: Setup Internet Access For BlackBerry 3rd Party Applications

    Thanks for the info!!

  4. #4
    robd2_2000's Avatar
    robd2_2000 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    33

    Re: How to: Setup Internet Access For BlackBerry 3rd Party Applications

    thanks to everyone

  5. #5
    gazar's Avatar
    gazar no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,203

    Re: How to: Setup Internet Access For BlackBerry 3rd Party Applications

    I am trying to set up opera mini and nuance voice control on my o2 UK pearl.
    and both of these need APN settings.

    I have tried the following

    apn: wap.o2.c0.uk
    user: o2wap
    Password: password

    Is the password supposed to be my device password or it is just password, or maybe a o2 password ??

    Does o2 UK server have to be set up to use these apps ??

    No help from o2uk "help" and BB uk only work mon-fri.

    Any help or hints would be appreciated /Gaz

  6. #6
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: How to: Setup Internet Access For BlackBerry 3rd Party Applications

    O2 (UK)
    Gateway IP: 192.113.200.195
    Port: 9201
    APN: wap.o2.co.uk
    username: o2wap
    password: password

    You tried as outlined above and it didn't work? I see you listed the apn as wap.o2.c0.uk

    Is the '0' a typo here or did you put that in your apn settings? Make sure it is the letter 'o' and not the number '0'.

  7. #7
    gazar's Avatar
    gazar no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,203

    Re: How to: Setup Internet Access For BlackBerry 3rd Party Applications

    Its a typo lol
    I tried to sync opera OTA and it got half way through part 2 and went to "unable to contact server contact provider etc.

    Do I need to get a password from o2 ??
    Last edited by gazar; 02-17-2007 at 02:19 PM.

  8. #8
    bbjamesn's Avatar
    bbjamesn no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: How to: Setup Internet Access For BlackBerry 3rd Party Applications

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i am having a similar problem. My opera tests the commection to the internet then says unable to connect to the network. I used the settings for t mobile.

  9. #9
    ronjohnonBB's Avatar
    ronjohnonBB no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    3181F02F
    Posts
    24

    Re: How to: Setup Internet Access For BlackBerry 3rd Party Applications

    thanks for the info

  10. #10
    lilspun247's Avatar
    lilspun247 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    32668580
    Posts
    32

    Re: How to: Setup Internet Access For BlackBerry 3rd Party Applications

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    lilspun247's Avatar
    lilspun247 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    32668580
    Posts
    32

    Re: How to: Setup Internet Access For BlackBerry 3rd Party Applications

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~I called my service provider, they have me the settings, they walked me through the process. Opera mini is still telling me it can't connect. I'm so frustrated right now. Are there any other browsers?

  12. #12
    andie247's Avatar
    andie247 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    2471980
    Posts
    2

    Re: How to: Setup Internet Access For BlackBerry 3rd Party Applications

    I am using BB 7130 and using opera mini on hutch network. I have put the APN "www" in TCP. Still my opera does not connect. it says unable to connect.

    please help

  13. #13
    andie247's Avatar
    andie247 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    2471980
    Posts
    2

    Re: How to: Setup Internet Access For BlackBerry 3rd Party Applications

    I am using BB 7130 and using opera mini on hutch india network. I have put the APN "www" in TCP which is the iGPRS APN. Still my opera does not connect. it says unable to connect.

  14. #14
    chrispaz's Avatar
    chrispaz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    20590C9B
    Posts
    3

    Re: How to: Setup Internet Access For BlackBerry 3rd Party Applications

    Where can I change the port in the BB Pearl.

    Thanks so much.

  15. #15
    playball's Avatar
    playball no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: How to: Setup Internet Access For BlackBerry 3rd Party Applications

    Hello All, I've 7210 and Option settings don't have "Advance Options", however it has "Browser" options and shows "empty" and can't change it.
    I'm sorry if this i a silly question.
    Playball

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •