Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Hey everyone, I was wondering if there's any way to set Opera Mini as the ... 3rd Party BlackBerry Software forum

  1. #1
    cornelious0_0's Avatar
    cornelious0_0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    235B134C
    Posts
    673

    Opera Mini as default browser?

    Advertisement



    Hey everyone, I was wondering if there's any way to set Opera Mini as the default web browser that is launched when you click on web page links listed in email messages and what not.

    I have next to no reason to use anything BUT Opera Mini and it's a little annoying to have the BB web browser load by default.

  2. #2
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    You should be able to open your browser then hit menu and go into options. Then click general properties and change default browser. Hope this helps and if I am wrong I know someone will correct me.

  3. #3
    armenvzw's Avatar
    armenvzw no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    142
    I tried to do that. Dosent look like you can change it from internet browser.


    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    tbhuang2's Avatar
    tbhuang2 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    88
    You never could and, to be honest, probably never will be able to.
    Sorry, but apparently this is just the way it is.
    BB Wishlist:
    -Gmail BIS integration with an effective 2-way read/unread sync solution.
    -More capable integrated alarm.

  5. #5
    smooth10's Avatar
    smooth10 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    21CB9337
    Posts
    1,506
    Yeah you can't change the brower to OperaMini. It's an application so all web links will automatically be forced to work with the internal wap browser

  6. #6
    cornelious0_0's Avatar
    cornelious0_0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    235B134C
    Posts
    673
    Fair enough, I think I might be sticking with the BB browser for simplicity's sake.

    Thanks for the input though guys, its very much appreciated.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    thymaster's Avatar
    thymaster no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    198
    Yeah if anyone have a solution, I would like to know too. Opera is my favorite browser and I hate switching back and forth between browsers.

  8. #8
    cornelious0_0's Avatar
    cornelious0_0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    235B134C
    Posts
    673
    On the topic of browsers, what is the/a WAP browser? I see options to set the default browser to "WAP browser" but I'm not sure what the WAP browser actually in.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    thymaster's Avatar
    thymaster no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    198
    This should explain what a WAP Browser is...http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microbrowser

    It's basically a strip down version of a full HTML browser that you see on your laptop. Mainly on most regular cell phones with low memory. Why use WAP when you can render the entire html page with the blackberry browser.

  10. #10
    Berryadict's Avatar
    Berryadict no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,297
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    RIM's really focusing on browser development, and I'll bet you they have something great within a reasonable amount of time

  11. #11
    fynegemini's Avatar
    fynegemini no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    305DBC14
    Posts
    57
    Ok I might be wrong but from what I can see is th new os that I just downloaded has a comparable layout to opera. It now can do a full browser view as well as column view. Also change your view mode under options to simulate "natescape""ms ie" "moble ms ie" and some other ones . Caful tho some paged won't load in certain modes -ie. Wells fago won't load in bb mode only in microsoft Ie mode and youtube won't play in microsoft Ie only in bb mode lol. Ok well have fun. Pin me if any of you have an correction I shoud know bout.

  12. #12
    cornelious0_0's Avatar
    cornelious0_0 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    235B134C
    Posts
    673
    Well guys, I don't think I'm gonna be worrying about Opera Mino to much, I just got my Bold yesterday and the browser is a huge step in the right direction. The updated HTML browser and larger screen make web browsing quite enjoyable on the 9000, and I'm probably just gonna stick with the default browser for now for the sake of simplicity.

    Thanks for all the input though, it was very much appreciated.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    naivete's Avatar
    naivete no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    33
    In fact , i think BB brower is powerful also , and Opera have some tiny problems also , for example i still don't know how to duplicate the content of the web page u brower onto ur bb ...
    Concern On Mobile2.0, well come to my Blog :
    http://movox.cn

  14. #14
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by cornelious0_0 View Post
    Well guys, I don't think I'm gonna be worrying about Opera Mino to much, I just got my Bold yesterday and the browser is a huge step in the right direction. The updated HTML browser and larger screen make web browsing quite enjoyable on the 9000, and I'm probably just gonna stick with the default browser for now for the sake of simplicity.

    Thanks for all the input though, it was very much appreciated.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Congrats on your Bold and a solution. Don't forget to update your profile...lol

  15. #15
    tbhuang2's Avatar
    tbhuang2 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    88
    Browser uses BIS.
    Opera uses TCP.
    TCP >> BIS in terms of speed.
    BB Wishlist:
    -Gmail BIS integration with an effective 2-way read/unread sync solution.
    -More capable integrated alarm.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •