Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27

Originally Posted by cp6169 I notice I can zoom further on sattelite view on my ... 3rd Party BlackBerry Software forum

  1. #16
    digitalslack's Avatar
    digitalslack no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    23D1981A
    Posts
    433

    Re: Google Maps upped version 1.3.1 to 1.3.2

    Advertisement



    Quote Originally Posted by cp6169
    I notice I can zoom further on sattelite view on my own town. Before I could not go as far as seeing my house, now I sure can! Pretty accurate too.
    most mapping programs use the same engines
    depending on where you are viewing.
    virtual earth, google maps and yahoo all use NAVTEQ in the MD area and isn't accurate under 1 city block.
    mapquest uses something called I-cubed which i haven't heard of before
    but it does get you into the area you need to get to

    and Google's integration with traffic speeds is a GREAT
    i take a look before i leave to or from work to determine which way i'll go home
    it's accurate up to about 5 minutes
    one of the greatest map mashups i have seen
    Last edited by cp6169; 10-30-2006 at 07:53 PM.

  2. #17
    setec0001's Avatar
    setec0001 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5

    Re: Google Maps upped version 1.3.1 to 1.3.2

    Yes, this does work on the 7100i.

    I installed it by just pointing my BB browser to

    www .google .com /glm
    (^-- I am too new to post links yet)

    and following the upgrade prompts.

  3. #18
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: Google Maps upped version 1.3.1 to 1.3.2

    Quote Originally Posted by crutcherk
    Check out this location:
    vern and fenamore st detroit, mi

    Look at the Satilite view

    Prettygood camera

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Nice...I was browsing over Miami once and caught a view of plane like that, but scrolled by too quick and lost where it was...

  4. #19
    deezndc's Avatar
    deezndc no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    3034d119
    Posts
    277

    Re: Google Maps upped version 1.3.1 to 1.3.2

    Does anyone know how old the maps are?
    "A censor is a man who knows more than he thinks you ought to."

    When they discover the center of the universe, a lot of people will be disappointed to discover they are not it.
    - Bernard Bailey

  5. #20
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: Google Maps upped version 1.3.1 to 1.3.2

    I can assure you the maps are at least 2 weeks old. We paved our parking lot and it stills shows it unpaved in the maps.

  6. #21
    sparkyweb's Avatar
    sparkyweb no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    38

    Re: Google Maps upped version 1.3.1 to 1.3.2

    Is this feature a download or does it use the gprs or edge etc to access data off a web server?
    ie Once downloaded will I have to pay more for more info? I am on a pAYG data tariff here in the uk

  7. #22
    specialguess's Avatar
    specialguess no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    30617115
    Posts
    41

    Thumbs up Re: Google Maps upped version 1.3.1 to 1.3.2

    Quote Originally Posted by setec0001
    Yes, this does work on the 7100i.

    I installed it by just pointing my BB browser to

    www .google .com /glm
    (^-- I am too new to post links yet)

    and following the upgrade prompts.
    Thanks for the info. I am downloading it now
    Markham, Ontario

  8. #23
    digitalslack's Avatar
    digitalslack no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    23D1981A
    Posts
    433

    Re: Google Maps upped version 1.3.1 to 1.3.2

    Quote Originally Posted by sparkyweb
    Is this feature a download or does it use the gprs or edge etc to access data off a web server?
    ie Once downloaded will I have to pay more for more info? I am on a pAYG data tariff here in the uk
    it's streamed in real time to your device when you request an area
    so it uses your BB's dataplan the same as browsing a website would

  9. #24
    jomer's Avatar
    jomer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    5

    Re: Google Maps upped version 1.3.1 to 1.3.2

    test

  10. #25
    berry-bum's Avatar
    berry-bum no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    49
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~if you guys and gals are interested, google maps is offering version 1.4.1 now, at least for the 8700.

  11. #26
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

  12. #27
    evilcaptain's Avatar
    evilcaptain no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    299
    Thanks. Updating on my 7105t.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •