Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

I don't know if you're as much of a fan of BBWeather as I am ... 3rd Party BlackBerry Software forum

  1. #1
    jdellasala's Avatar
    jdellasala no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,573

    BBWeather Updated - Works again!!

    Advertisement



    I don't know if you're as much of a fan of BBWeather as I am (and have been for quite a while), but it is one app I've had on ALL my (four digit) BlackBerries. As any BBWeather user knows, it stoped working a week or two ago. Apparently weather.com changed their feed which is why BBWeather stopped working.

    Well someone (don't think they're on PinStack) has been clever enough to fix it! I've updated my Mini Version Tracker list with the new OTA link.

    NOTES:
    You must follow these steps exactly to get it set up the first time you run it on a Trackball device:
    1. Click on BBWeather to open the application.
    2. You will get error that says: no weather profiles.
    3. Click on the trackball to select OK. Do not click on the menu button!
    4. Click the trackball again and it will bring you to the menu.
    5. Select Options to get to the Options screen
    6. Click the Menu button and select Add to add a weather profile.
      1. Enter the desired Location ID:
      2. Enter a description like "New York, NY" or "Home".
      3. Select the number of Forecast Days and Units.
      4. Enter a shortcut key if desired.
      5. Click OK.
    7. You should be back at the Options screen.
    8. Select your polling intervals.
    9. If you are NOT on a BES, make sure you check the box to disable MDS.
    10. Select colors if you don't want to use the default colors.
    11. Click the Menu button and select Save.

    To create more Profiles (cities), click the Menu button and select Options, then in the Options screen, click the Menu button and select Add and follow steps A-E above.

    The steps are pretty much the same for Scroll Wheel devices, but the app will lock up if you attempt to hit [Enter] or the Menu button on the initial error. Just Click the Scroll Wheel wherever it says Click the Menu button above for non Trackball devices.

    I had version 0.74 installed (versions 0.75 and 0.76 were also floating around in the ether). When I went to download and install it, I was not asked if I wanted to overwrite the older version, so I canceled the download, uninstalled version 0.74, allowed the requested reboot, and installed the newer version. In the process I lost the 8-10 cities I had set up. I do not know if uninstalling the older version first is necessary, but it seemed like the right thing to do. If you have an older version installed and don't uninstall it before installing this version, let us know what happens!

    OK, I was going to just use my Mini Version Tracker link above in a shameless attempt to "advertise" it, but here's the direct OTA link:
    http://www.tateu.net/software/bb.php?f=BBWeather
    Last edited by jdellasala; 06-07-2008 at 07:35 AM.
    .
    JerryD

  2. #2
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Thanks. The OTA link isn't a hyper link just in case, its just text.

    EDIT: Just tried it, "Error: Open tunnel failure"

    Everything is set right I believe.
    Last edited by lucky13mt; 05-23-2008 at 08:29 AM.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  3. #3
    jdellasala's Avatar
    jdellasala no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,573
    Quote Originally Posted by lucky13mt View Post
    Thanks. The OTA link isn't a hyper link just in case, its just text.

    EDIT: Just tried it, "Error: Open tunnel failure"

    Everything is set right I believe.
    Fixed the link.

    Open tunnel failure I believe means you need to set your APN. Find your provider's settings here:
    http://www.pinstack.com/carrier_sett...n_gateway.html

    Let us know if that fixes it.
    .
    JerryD

  4. #4
    fritter's Avatar
    fritter no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    942
    great write up jerry thanks for the OTA people seem to like that better.

  5. #5
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Quote Originally Posted by jdellasala View Post
    Fixed the link.

    Open tunnel failure I believe means you need to set your APN. Find your provider's settings here:
    http://www.pinstack.com/carrier_sett...n_gateway.html

    Let us know if that fixes it.
    My APN is always set.

    I'll try removing and re-downloading.

    EDIT: Fixed and working, thanks.
    Last edited by lucky13mt; 05-23-2008 at 09:36 AM.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  6. #6
    thbassman's Avatar
    thbassman no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    10,235
    Am getting an: Error Invalid URL parameter

    Any Ideas??
    Last edited by thbassman; 06-04-2008 at 03:01 PM. Reason: sp
    THBASSMAN

    Carpe Diem!!

    thbassmanatpinstackdotcom

    Check this out!!! Mobiletropolis

    My TORCH Rocks!

  7. #7
    DonGato's Avatar
    DonGato no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    244
    Have you updated to new version (0.76)?

    http://bbrtm.org/bbweather/

  8. #8
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    OTA link for version .77.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  9. #9
    lilsarahboo's Avatar
    lilsarahboo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    10
    I am also getting the Error Invalid URL paramete and I have .77

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    fossiltkm's Avatar
    fossiltkm no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AA8A73
    Posts
    151
    Worked like a charm! Thanks jdellasala.

  11. #11
    DonGato's Avatar
    DonGato no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by lilsarahboo View Post
    I am also getting the Error Invalid URL paramete and I have .77

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I just checked with 0.76 that I linked and it's working.

  12. #12
    thbassman's Avatar
    thbassman no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    10,235
    Quote Originally Posted by thbassman View Post
    Am getting an: Error Invalid URL parameter

    Any Ideas??
    I misread #9 and once while playing with it I checked the box and now everything works great, thanks.

  13. #13
    Teuton's Avatar
    Teuton no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    2431C260
    Posts
    22
    I upgraded to 0.77 and I got Error: No Weather Profiles specified. Then it froze. I was unable to reach MDS Proxy or Options.


  14. #14
    hiitsmikee's Avatar
    hiitsmikee no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    24780B87
    Posts
    6
    i also have 0.77 and changed the tcp connection for T-mobile and mine still doesnt work. I tried all 3 different voicestream urls. any ideas how to fix it?

  15. #15
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Quote Originally Posted by Teuton View Post
    I upgraded to 0.77 and I got Error: No Weather Profiles specified. Then it froze. I was unable to reach MDS Proxy or Options.
    After you get this error you have to click the Trackball to get to the menu. Using anything but the Trackball first to get to the menu will freeze your BB.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •